Double Your Pleasure

Loading Map....

Date(s) - Saturday, May 14, 2016
8:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Carlow University St. Agnes Center


8:00 pm Saturday, May 14, 2016

St. Agnes Center of Carlow University
3333 Fifth Avenue, Oakland

‘Twas in 1988 that the Renaissance City Woodwind Quintet officially expanded into the Winds, so it could perform music for octet and double quintet, known as “harmoniemusic” in the eighteenth century.  This concert features Beethoven’s virtuoso octet for pairs of oboes, clarinets, horn, and bassoons, and R. James Whipple’s modern nod to Mozartian style, written for WQED-FM. Arthur Bird’s Suite in D, a Romantic masterpiece from 1882, and Nancy Galbraith’s Dos Danzas Latinas round out the program.

BeethovenOctet in E-flat Major
Arthur Bird: Suite in D
R. James Whipple: Lunch With Amadeus
Nancy Galbraith: Dos Danzas Latinas
William Byrd
: The Earl of Oxford’s March


Renaissance City Winds nonet

photo by Larry Rippel


St. Agnes Center at Carlow University

St. Agnes Center at Carlow University