2011-2012 Season

 Mix and Match
   with Rodrigo Ojeda, piano

October 1, 2011
    Parlor Concert: Sewickley, PA
October 2, 2011
    Third Presbyterian Church, Shadyside

Venezuelan pianist Rodrigo Ojeda joins the Winds in an eclectic mix of French classics and fresh American voices.  The kaleidoscope of instrumental combinations varies from trios and a quartet to solo winds with piano, including a rare work of Roy Harris and one of the Winds’ most enduring commissioned pieces, Robert Washburn’s French Suite of 1980

  • SAINT-SAENS: Caprice on Danish and Russian Airs
  • POULENC: Trio for Oboe, Bassoon, and Piano
  • ROY HARRIS: Lyric Studies (Pittsburgh Premiere)
  • PEGGY GLANVILLE-HICKS: Concertino da Camera (Pittsburgh Premiere)
  • ROBERT WASHBURN: French Suite (RCW commissioned work)
  • ROBERT MUCZYNSKI: Time Pieces, for clarinet and piano

Latin America Fiesta

November 26, 2011
    Parlor Concert: Allegheny West

Composers from South America and the Caribbean are featured in this all-quintet program.  The colorful melodies and urgent rhythms give this music a flavor all its own!

  • VILLA-LOBOS: Choros No. 2
  • JULIO MEDAGLIA: Suite Popular Brasileira (Pittsburgh Premiere)
  • IGNACIO CERVANTES: Six Cuban Dances (Pittsburgh Premiere)
  • EFRAÍN AMAYA: Kaleidoscope
  • EFRAÍN AMAYA: Chocolat (World Premiere)

Heavenly Music for Harp & Winds
   with Nuiko Wadden, harpist

March 23, 2012
    Parlor Concert: Clinton, PA
March 25, 2012
    Carlow University, Kresge Theatre

One of the Winds’ most popular programs on tour, Heavenly Music for Harp and Winds features an exotic mix of Russian, French, Austrian, German and Chinese-American composers.  A prizewinner with the American Harp Society, Muiko Wadden is a member of the janus trio and International Contempory Ensemble, and principal harpist with the Des Moines and Pittsburgh Opera Orchestras.

  • MAURICE RAVEL: La Tombeau de Couperin
  • W.A. MOZART:  Viennese Sonatina No. 1
  • MICHAEL IPPOLITOV-IVANOV: An Evening in Georgia
  • CHOU WEN-CHUNG: Suite for Harp and Wind Quintet
  • AUGUST KLUGHARDT:  Quintet in C

Leave a Reply