Brass + Winds!

Loading Map....

Date(s) - Saturday, September 28, 2019
8:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Northmont United Presbyterian Church








The C Street Brass joins the Winds for an exciting season opener of modern classics.  Featured is the famous Octet of 1923 by Igor Stravinsky, and Leonardo Balada’s Sonata for Ten Winds from 1980. Rounding out the program are a Romantic wind quintet and a brass quintet by Canadian composer Morley Calvert.

This concert repeats as a Sunday matinee at 3pm on September 29th, in Kresge Theater in the College of Fine Arts at Carnegie Mellon University.


Igor Stravinsky: Octet for Winds (1923)
August Klughardt: Quintet in C Major, Op. 79 (1898)
Leonardo Balada: Sonata for Ten Winds (1980)
Morley Calvert: “From the Monteregian Hills” Suite (1976)